Window tinting is necessary for your automobile because it shields the cabin from the sun’s damaging effects of ultraviolet (UV) radiation, which may lead to premature aging and cracking of leather upholstery and carpeting. However, various locations have varying regulations regarding the maximum amount of darkness that may be achieved using window tints. OCDetailing NC LLC is here to serve as your guide to getting a deeper understanding of these rules and processes. Let’s get started right now.
What is the tint law in NC?
The visible light transmission (VLT) standard is the primary focus of the North Carolina window tint legislation. Visible light transmission is what the abbreviation VLT stands for. The percentage of visible light transmission (VLT) defines the quantity of light allowed to enter the vehicle. The value of the VLT is expressed as a percentage. With a lower percentage, the window tint will be darker and less light will pass through. The percentages of window tints considered safe for modern automobiles are used to revise and update the legislation that governs window tinting periodically. However, the regulations regarding window tinting in North Carolina that are now in effect have been around since 2001. These restrictions stipulate how dark or reflective a driver’s window tint can be.
The darkness law in NC for passenger cars
- There is a possibility that the top five inches of the windshield will be tinted with a non-reflective film, or the AS-1 line may be used.
- Front and side windows are required to let in 35% of the available light, often known as 35% visible light transmission.
- A minimum of 35 percent visible light transmission (VLT) must be let in via the back windows.
- 35% Visible Light Transmitted (VLT) must be let through the rear window.
The darkest tint in NC by Law
You might wonder, “What is the dark tint permissible in North Carolina?” The response is that the permitted darkest tint is reserved only for those who need it for medical reasons. Because of the medical exemption, the applicant is permitted to have a maximum tint VLT of 70% on the windshields of their vehicles.
The following are the requirements that need to be met to qualify for a medical exemption:
- You must get a form from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website.
- A medical professional is required to fill out the form.
- After that, you must go back to the DMV to get clearance to be eligible for a medical exemption.
- Following the acquisition of a medical exemption, you must affix a sticker to the lower-left-hand corner of the left side of the vehicle’s rear window.
Medical exemptions have to be approved by the medical review board and may have a duration of up to many years if they are. In the event of a violation of the terms of the certificate, a monetary fee may be imposed.
Regulations for Passenger and Vehicle Window Tint Reflection in NC
Windows on the front side, the rear side, and all sides together cannot reflect more than 20 percent. This regulation applies to passenger cars, such as sedans, and multipurpose vehicles, such as SUVs, vans, and other similar automobiles.
Why should we get window tint at OCDetailing in Lumberton, NC?
If you seek a reputable company that tints windows in Lumberton, North Carolina, you should make OCDetailing NC LLC your first and only destination. We do things of the highest quality and provide the most beneficial outcomes for your car. When you bring your vehicle to OCDetailing NC LLC, we will treat it as if it were our own, and we will not settle for anything short of absolute excellence in our work. Get in touch with us at +1 (910) 816-0352 or drop by our office at 801 W 5th St, Lumberton, NC 28358 as soon as possible so we can set up your appointment.